Skip to content


Photo of Former school, Nash. A stone on the wall is inscribed 'Nash Church of England School' with the dates 1846, 1873 and 1892. by Philip Halling, some rights reserved.

Nash Shropshire Genelaogy & Family History

Nash is a chapelry of Burford Ancient Parish in Shropshire.

St John the Baptist's parish church, Nash, Shropshire, seen from the southeast. The copyright on this image is owned by Philip Halling and is licensed for reuse under the Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 2.0 license.

Church: St John the Baptist

Parish registers begin: 1825

St John the Baptist Church

The church of St John the Baptist, Nash, dates back to the early 14th century with Norman windows in the tower dating back to 1066 – 1154. The church was originally used as a chapel for the ease of Burford, until in 1849 when it became a church in its own right. A north aisle was added to the building in 1865 after it became a church.

The parish war memorial is in the form of marble steps to the high altar, which list names of the dead of both World Wars and bears the text: I saw under the altar the souls of them that were slain for the testimony which they held (Book of Revelation, chapter 6 verse 9). In the south wall is a stained glass window in memory of Major Sir Robert Dalrymple Arbuthnot, killed during Operation Goodwood in Normandy in 1944. There is also a First World War Roll of Remembrance listing local men who served in World War I.

An old wooden vertical south dial still exists on the exterior of the church showing hours from VI to VI.[14]

Parishes adjacent to Nash

  • Knowbury
  • Milson
  • Knighton-on-Teme
  • Hope Bagot
  • Boraston
  • Burford
  • Coreley

Historical Descriptions



Nash, a township-chapelry in Burford parish, Salop; near the boundary with Worcester, 2 miles N by E of Tenbury r. station. Post-town, Tenbury. Pop., 269. Houses, 55. The living is a p. curacy, annexed to the first portion of the rectory of Burford, in the diocese of Hereford.

Source: The Imperial Gazetteer of England & Wales [Wilson, John M]. A. Fullarton & Co. N. d. c. [1870-72].


Nash, a joint township with Tilsop and Weston, in the parish of Burford, hundred of Overs, county of Salop, 2½ miles (N. by E.) from Tenbury, containing, with Tilsop and Weston, 377 inhabitants.

Source: A Topographical Dictionary of England by Samuel Lewis 1831


Nash. A township in the parish of Burford, and in the hundred of Overs. Nash, Tilsop, and Weston, contain 74 houses, 377 inhabitants. 6 miles south-west of Ludlow. Nash is a chapel to Burford, in the diocese of Hereford, the deanery of Burford, and archdeaconry of Salop. It is served by one of the rectors of Burford.

Source: The Shropshire Gazetteer, with an Appendix, including a Survey of the County and Valuable Miscellaneous Information, with Plates. Printed and Published by T. Gregory, Wem, 1824



Tilsop, a township in Burford parish, Salop; 4½ miles SW of Cleobury-Mortimer. Pop., 104. Houses, 24.

Source: The Imperial Gazetteer of England & Wales [Wilson, John M]. A. Fullarton & Co. N. d. c. [1870-72].

Poll Books

Nash, Tilsop, & Weston Shropshire Poll Book 1865

Below are the names of those that voted in the election of July 1865 between Col. The Hon. P. E. Herbert, Sir Baldwin Leighton, Bart., and R. Jasper More, Esq.

Poll Book of the Election, July 1865 for the Southern Division of Shropshire.

Cleobury Mortimer Polling District

Nash, Tilsop, & Weston - Townships of

1594 Barber John

1595 Barber Stephen, see 1519

1596 Bate Richard

1597 Beaumont John

1598 Beddoes Thomas

1599 Bytheway Benjamin

1600 Bradley George

1601 Jones John

1602 Jones James

1603 Jones James

1604 Lowe Charles Arthur

1605 Millichamp Samuel

1606 Morris Edward

1607 Mountford Samuel

1608 Pardoe George

1609 Perrins Edward

1610 Price William

1611 Radnor William

1612 Revel John

1613 Robinson George

1614 Robinson Robert

1615 Trantram Thomas

1616 Wheeler Edward Vincent

1617 Wilding Henry


  • County: Shropshire
  • Civil Registration District: Tenbury
  • Probate Court: Court of the Bishop of Hereford (Episcopal Consistory)
  • Diocese: Hereford
  • Rural Deanery: Burford
  • Poor Law Union: Tenbury
  • Hundred: Overs
  • Province: Canterbury