Bishampton Worcestershire Littleburys Directory 1879

Bishampton, or Bishop Hampton, was formerly a chapelry of Fladbury, but is now a parish, distant 10 miles E.S.E. of Worcester, 7 N.N.W. of Evesham, 4 ½ N. of Pershore railway station (5 ½ from the town of Pershore), and 3 N.W. of Fladbury station on the Great Western railway. It is in the eastern division of the county, Middle Oswaldslow hundred, Upton Snodsbury highway district, Pershore union, petty sessional division, county court district, and polling district, Worcester diocese and archdeaconry, and Feckenham rural deanery. The acreage is 2,140; annual rateable value, £2,613; population in 1861, 469; in 1871, 492, with 102 inhabited houses, and 126 families or separate occupiers. The soil is marl and clay; chief crops, wheat, beans, barley, and turnips. The Duc D’Aumale (the lord of the manor), Henry Porter, Esq., and William Laslett, Esq., are the principal landowners. The church of St. James was rebuilt in 1870, except the tower, at a cost of £2,000, towards which the Bishop of Worcester, the Duc D’Aumale, and the late Miss Porter, each gave £500. The architect was Frederick Preedy, Esq., of London, and the builder, Mr. J. Griffiths, of Eldersfield, in this county. It is a stone edifice in the Gothic style, with chancel, nave, and a chapel in south aisle. New pinnacles have been placed on the tower, which otherwise remains unaltered. The iron frame, which in the 17th century held the sermon hour-glass in the pulpit, is preserved. The register dates from the year 1599. The living is a vicarage, annual value £250, arising from 78 acres of glebe, and an annuity of £100 from the Ecclesiastical Commissioners; patron, the Bishop of Worcester; vicar, the Rev. Henry Niven, M.A., St. John’s College, Cambridge, who was instituted in 1850. There are national and Sunday schools, supported partly by the Duc D’Aumale and partly by the inhabitants. The parochial school is under Diocesan inspection; average attendance, 62. The Baptists have a small chapel here, erected in 1844. Among the charities are the proceeds of 4 acres, 1 rood, 19 perches to keep the church in repair; two tenements called “Babylon,” left by Mrs. Wallbank, and some small sums for the benefit of the poor.

Postal Regulations. – Letters are received through Pershore. The letter-box (near the school) is cleared at 4.45 p.m. on week-days only. Pershore is the nearest money-order and telegraph office and post town.

Parish Church (St. James’s). – Rev. Henry Niven, M.A., Vicar; Messrs. John Lidsey and William Stevens, Churchwardens; William Ford, Parish Clerk.

Parochial School (boys and girls). – Miss S. J. Warren, Mistress.

Baptist Chapel. – Ministers various.

Carrier to Worcester and Evesham. – John Atkins, on Saturdays to Worcester, and Mondays to Evesham.


Harwood Mrs.

Niven Rev. Hy., M.A. (vicar), the Vicarage

Stephens Miss


Ansell Thomas, tailor

Atkins John, market gardener & carrier

Brookes Thomas, wheelwright

Cole John, farmer, Dean Lodge farm

Davis George, shopkpr. and wheelwright

Dorrell William, farmer

Farley William, boot and shoe maker

Ford William, parish clerk

Ganderton Wm., tailor and beer retailer

Green Mrs. Eliza, farmer

Hamblin James, cottage farmer

Horne Mrs., cottage farmer

Knight George, farmer

Lidsey John, farmer, Singer’s Bush hall

Niblett James, wheelwright and farmer, Vicarage farm

Nightingale Mrs. C., farmer, Lower field

Spiers Benjamin, shopkpr. & cot. Farmer

Spiers Joseph, blacksmith

Stanton Albert Henry, shopkeeper

Stephens Wm., Dolphin Inn, & farmer

Warren Miss S. J., schoolmistress

Workman David Malins, farmer

Source: Littlebury, Littlebury’s Directory and Gazetteer of Worcester & District, Third Edition. Printed by Ballantyne, Hanson & Co. 1879.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.