St Marychurch

St Marychurch, Devon Family History

St Marychurch is an Ancient Parish in the county of Devon. Coffinswell is a chapelry of St Marychurch.

Other places in the parish include: Watcombe, Shiphay Collaton, Edginswell, Barton, Babbicombe, and Comb Pafford.

Parish church:

Parish registers begin: 1641

Nonconformists include: Baptist, Bible Christian Methodist, Independent/Congregational, Plymouth Brethren, Protestant Dissenters, Roman Catholic, Society of Friends/Quaker, Strict Baptist, and Wesleyan Methodist.

Parishes adjacent to St Marychurch

  • Kingskerswell
  • Stokeinteignhead
  • Cockington
  • Coffinswell
  • Upton
  • Marldon
  • Tormohun

Historical Descriptions


Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales Circa 1870

Babbicombe, a village in St. Marychurch parish, Devon; on the coast, 1½ mile NE of Torquay. It has a post-office under Torquay, and an inn. It was recently a sequestered hamlet; but it is now a well-built place, rapidly extending. A romantic tiny bay, of its own name, is adjacent; and a brilliant view is enjoyed of a great extent of coast.

Source: The Imperial Gazetteer of England & Wales [Wilson, John M]. A. Fullarton & Co. N. d. c. [1870-72].


  • County: Devon
  • Civil Registration District: Newton Abbot
  • Probate Court: Court of the Peculiars of the Dean and Chapter of Exeter
  • Diocese: Exeter
  • Rural Deanery: Post-1847 - Ipplepen, Pre-1848 - None
  • Poor Law Union: Newton Abbot
  • Hundred: Haytor
  • Province: Canterbury