Historical Descriptions

Cumberland is bounded North by Scotland and part of Northumberland, East by Westmorland and Durham, South by Lancashire, and West by the Irish Sea. It is 80 miles long, and about 40 broad. It is divided into 5 Wards; it has one City, one Borough, and 14 Market Towns. Rivers, the Eden and the Derwent. It is in the Province of York, in the Dioceses of Carlisle, Durham, and Chester, and in the Northern Circuit. It contains 1478 square miles, or 945,920 acres. Population, 178,038.

Source: Leonard’s Gazetteer of England and Wales; Second Edition; C. W. Leonard, London; 1850.





  • Caldbeck, Cumberland
  • Camerton, Cumberland
  • Carlatton, Cumberland
  • Carlisle Cathedral, Cumberland
  • Carlisle Christ Church, Cumberland
  • Carlisle Holy Trinity, Cumberland
  • Carlisle St Cuthbert, Cumberland
  • Carlisle St Mary, Cumberland
  • Castle Carrock, Cumberland
  • Castle Sowerby, Cumberland
  • Cleator, Cumberland
  • Clifton, Cumberland
  • Cloffocks, Cumberland
  • Cockermouth, Cumberland
  • Corney, Cumberland
  • Croglin, Cumberland
  • Crosby on Eden, Cumberland
  • Crosscanonby, Cumberland
  • Crosthwaite, Cumberland
  • Culgaith, Cumberland
  • Cumrew, Cumberland
  • Cumwhitton, Cumberland


  • Dacre, Cumberland
  • Dalston, Cumberland
  • Dean, Cumberland
  • Dearham, Cumberland
  • Distington, Cumberland
  • Drigg, Cumberland


  • Eaglesfield Abbey, Cumberland
  • Edenhall, Cumberland
  • Egremont, Cumberland
  • Embleton, Cumberland
  • Ennerdale, Cumberland
  • Eskdale, Cumberland
  • Farlam, Cumberland
  • Flimby, Cumberland


  • Geltsdale, Cumberland
  • Gilcrux, Cumberland
  • Gosforth, Cumberland
  • Great Orton, Cumberland
  • Great Salkeld, Cumberland
  • Greystoke, Cumberland
  • Grinsdale, Cumberland


  • Haile, Cumberland
  • Harrington, Cumberland
  • Hayton (near Aspatria), Cumberland
  • Hayton (near Brampton), Cumberland
  • Hensingham, Cumberland
  • Hesket in the Forest, Cumberland
  • Holme Cultram, Cumberland
  • Holme Eden, Cumberland
  • Holme Low, Cumberland
  • Houghton St John, Cumberland
  • Hutton in the Forest, Cumberland


  • Ireby, Cumberland
  • Irthington, Cumberland
  • Irton, Cumberland
  • Isel, Cumberland
  • Ivegill, Cumberland


  • Keswick, Cumberland
  • Kirkandrews on Eden with Beaumont, Cumberland
  • Kirkandrews on Esk, Cumberland
  • Kirkbampton, Cumberland
  • Kirkbride, Cumberland
  • Kirkland, Cumberland
  • Kirklinton, Cumberland
  • Kirkoswald, Cumberland


  • Lamplugh, Cumberland
  • Lanercost with Kirkcambeck, Cumberland
  • Langwathby, Cumberland
  • Lazonby, Cumberland
  • Lorton, Cumberland
  • Low Keekle, Cumberland
  • Loweswater, Cumberland


  • Maryport, Cumberland
  • Matterdale, Cumberland
  • Melmerby, Cumberland
  • Midgeholme, Cumberland
  • Millom, Cumberland
  • Moresby, Cumberland
  • Mosser, Cumberland
  • Mount Pleasant, Cumberland
  • Muncaster, Cumberland
  • Mungrisdale, Cumberland


  • Nenthead, Cumberland
  • Nether Denton, Cumberland
  • Nether Wasdale, Cumberland
  • Newlands, Cumberland
  • Newton Arlosh, Cumberland
  • Newton Reigny, Cumberland
  • Nicholforest, Cumberland


  • Ousby, Cumberland
  • Over Denton, Cumberland


  • Penrith, Cumberland
  • Plumbland, Cumberland
  • Plumpton Wall, Cumberland
  • Ponsonby, Cumberland



  • Salter and Eskett, Cumberland
  • Scaleby, Cumberland
  • Sebergham, Cumberland
  • Setmurthy, Cumberland
  • Silloth Christ Church, Cumberland
  • Skelton, Cumberland
  • Skiddaw, Cumberland
  • St Bees, Cumberland
  • St John’s in the Vale, Cumberland
  • Stanwix, Cumberland
  • Stapleton, Cumberland


  • Thornthwaite, Cumberland
  • Threlkeld, Cumberland
  • Thursby, Cumberland
  • Thwaites, Cumberland
  • Torpenhow, Cumberland


  • Uldale, Cumberland
  • Ulpha, Cumberland
  • Upperby, Cumberland


  • Waberthwaite, Cumberland
  • Walton, Cumberland
  • Wasdale Head, Cumberland
  • Watermillock, Cumberland
  • Westward, Cumberland
  • Wetheral with Warwick, Cumberland
  • Whicham, Cumberland
  • Whitbeck, Cumberland
  • Whitehaven Holy Trinity, Cumberland
  • Whitehaven St James, Cumberland
  • Whitehaven St Nicholas, Cumberland
  • Wigton, Cumberland
  • Workington, Cumberland
  • Workington St John, Cumberland
  • Wreay, Cumberland
  • Wythburn, Cumberland
  • Wythop, Cumberland

Wards of Cumberland

Division into Wards

The Earldom of Carlisle was divided into baronies, but on the creation of the county these were replaced by wards. These took the place of hundreds found in most other English counties, and originated in military subdivisions organised for the defence of the county from incursions by Scottish troops1. Each ward was composed of a number of parishes, areas originally formed for ecclesiastical administration. In common with other counties of northern England, many parishes in Cumberland were very large, often consisting of a number of distinct townships and hamlets. Many of these subdivisions were eventually to become civil parishes and form the lowest level of local government. The wards and their constituent parishes in 1821 were2:

  • Allerdale above Derwent Ward
  • Allerdale below Derwent Ward
  • Cumberland Ward
  • Eskdale Ward
  • Leath Ward

Poor Law Unions in Cumberland

The Poor Law Amendment Act 1834 provided for the grouping of parishes into poor law unions, each with a central workhouse and an elected board of guardians. Cumberland was divided into nine unions: Alston with Garrigill, Bootle, Brampton, Carlisle, Cockermouth, Longtown, Penrith, Whitehaven and Wigton.

  • Alston with Garrigill Poor Law Union
  • Bootle Poor Law Union
  • Brampton Poor Law Union
  • Carlisle Poor Law Union
  • Cockermouth Poor Law Union
  • Longtown Poor Law Union
  • Penrith Poor Law Union
  • Whitehaven Poor Law Union
  • Wigton Poor Law Union

  1. W L Warren (1984). “The Myth of Norman Administrative Efficiency: The Prothero Lecture”. Transactions of the Royal Historical Society, 5th Ser., Vol. 34. Royal Historical Society. Retrieved 2009-06-19. 
  2. Youngs, Frederic A, Jr. (1991). Guide to the Local Administrative Units of England, Vol.2: Northern England. London: Royal Historical Society. pp. 648–649. ISBN 0-86193-127-0.Whillier, Thomas (1825). A General Directory to all the Counties, Hundreds, Ridings, Wapentakes, Divisions, Cities, Boroughs, Liberties, Parishes, Townships, Tythings, Hamlets, Precincts, Chapelries &c. &c. in England. London: Joseph Butterworth & Son. pp. 28–31. 

One thought on “Cumberland

  1. I must thank you for the efforts you have put in writing this website.
    I am hoping to see the same high-grade content by you in the
    future as well. In truth, your creative writing abilities has motivated me to
    get my very own website now 😉

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s