Skip to content

Windsor Castle from the Park by Anthony Vandyke Copley Fielding


Berkshire is bounded north by Oxfordshire and Buckinghamshire being separated from them by the Thames; east by Surrey; South by Hampshire; West and Northwest by Wiltshire and Gloucestershire. It is about 40 miles long and 30 broad, containing 756 square miles, and 483,840 statute acres. Rivers, the Thames, the Kennett, the Loddon, the Ock, and the Lambourn. Berkshire is in the Province of Canterbury; in the diocese of Salisbury; and in the Oxford circuit. It is divided into 20 hundreds, named as follows: Beynhurst, Bray, Charlton, Compton, Cookham, Faircross, Faringdon,Ganfield, Hormer, Kintbury-Eagle, Lambourn, Moreton, Ock, Reading, Ripplesmere, Shrivenham, Sonning, Theasle, Wantage, Wargrave. There are 148 parishes, and 12 market-towns. Population, 161,147.

Source: Leonard’s Gazetteer of England and Wales; Second Edition; C. W. Leonard, London; 1850