Oswaldslow Hundred Worcestershire

Oswaldslow Worcestershire Delineated C. and J. Greenwood 1822

Oswaldslow – the name of a hundred, lying principally in the centre of the county, though there are some detached parts isolated in Gloucestershire and Warwickshire. The upper division contains Alderminster, Armscot, Blackwell, Blockley, Cleeve-Prior, Cutsdean, Dailsford, Darlingscot, Ditchford, Dorne, Draycot, Evenload, Iccomb, Longton juxta Tredington, Newbold, Paxford, Shipston-upon-Stour, Tidmington, and Tredington. Middle division, Alston, Alvechurch, Bishampton, Bredon, Charlton, Conderton, Cropthorn, Part of Crowle, Elmley-Castle, Fladbury, Hanbury, Harvington, Hill and Moor, Himbleton, Hobslench, Huddington, Inkberrow, Norton juxta Bredon, Overbury, Rous-Lench, Sedgeberrow, Shell, Stock and Bradley, Stoke-Prior, Teddington, Tiberton, Turogmorton (Throckmorton), Washbourne, and Wyre-Piddle. Lower division, Berrow, Bredicot, Broadwas, Churchill, Claines, Crome-D’Abitot, Earls-Crome, Grimley, Hallow, Hartlebury, Hill-Crome, Hinlip, Holdfast and Eastington, Holt, St. John’s-in-Bedwardine, Kempsey, Knightwick, Knighton, Lindridge, Malvern (Little), St. Michael’s-in-Bedwardine, Norton juxta Kempsey, Oddingley, Ombersley, Pendock, Pensax, Redmarley-D’Abitot, Ripple, Spetchley, Stoulton, Warndon, Welland, Whittington, Whiston (Tything of), White-Ladies-Aston, Wichenford, Wick-Episcopi, and Wolverly. The upper division containing 1185 inhabited houses, and 5950 inhabitants; the middle division, 2279 inhabited houses, and 11,788 inhabitants; and the lower division 3706 inhabited houses, and 25,641 inhabitants.

Places within Oswaldslow Hundred

  • Alderminster
  • Alstone
  • Alvechurch
  • Armscote
  • Berrow
  • Bishampton
  • Blackwell
  • Blockley
  • Bredicot
  • Bredon
  • Bredon’s Norton
  • Broadwas
  • Broughton Hackett
  • Charlton
  • Churchill near Spetchley
  • Claines
  • Cleeve Prior
  • Conderton
  • Cotheridge
  • Croome D’Abitot
  • Cropthorne
  • Crowle
  • Darlingscott
  • Daylesford
  • Doddenham
  • Dorne
  • Draycott
  • Earls Croome
  • Elmley Castle
  • Evenload
  • Fladbury
  • Grimley
  • Hallow
  • Hanbury
  • Hartlebury
  • Harvington
  • Hill and Moor
  • Hill Croome
  • Himbleton
  • Hindlip
  • Hob Lench
  • Holdfast
  • Holt
  • Huddington
  • Icomb
  • Inkberrow
  • Kempsey
  • Knighton
  • Knightwick
  • Lindridge
  • Little Malvern
  • Little Washbourne
  • Little Witley
  • Martin Hussingtree
  • Netherton
  • Norton
  • Oddingley
  • Ombersley
  • Overbury
  • Powick
  • Redmarley D’Abitot
  • Ripple, Worcestershire
  • Rous Lench
  • Sedgeberrow
  • Shell
  • Shipston-on-Stour
  • Spetchley
  • Stock and Bradley
  • Stoke Prior, Worcestershire
  • Stoulton
  • Teddington
  • Tibberton
  • Tidmington
  • Throckmorton
  • Warndon
  • Welland
  • White Ladies Aston
  • Whittington
  • Wichenford
  • Wolverley
  • Wyre Piddle

Source: Worcestershire Delineated: Being a Topographical Description of Each Parish, Chapelry, Hamlet, &c. In the County; with the distances and bearings from their respective market towns, &c. By C. and J. Greenwood. Printed by T. Bensley, Crane Court, Fleet Street, London, 1822.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s