Abbotskerswell, Devon Family History Guide

Abbotskerswell is an Ancient Parish in the county of Devon.

Alternative names: Abbott’s Kerswell, or Abbott’s Carswell

Parish church:

Parish registers begin: 1607

Nonconformists include: Baptist and Wesleyan Methodist.

St Mary's Church, Abbotskerswell.
St Mary’s Church, Abbotskerswell.The copyright on this image is owned by Derek Harper and is licensed for reuse under the Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 2.0 license.

Parishes adjacent to Abbotskerswell

  • East Ogwell
  • Kingskerswell
  • Wolborough
  • Coffinswell
  • Ipplepen
  • Combe in Teignhead

Historical Descriptions

Leonard’s Gazetteer of England and Wales 1850

Abbots-Kerswell, 2 m. S. Newton-Abbots. P. 433

Source: Leonard’s Gazetteer of England and Wales; Second Edition; C. W. Leonard, London; 1850

The Parliamentary Gazetteer of England and Wales 1840

Abbots-Kerswell, a parish in the hund. of Haytor, union of Newton-Abbots, Devonshire; 1½ mile south from Newton-Abbots. Living, a vicarage in the archd. of Totness and dio. of Exeter; rated at £11 1s. 3d.; gross income £278. Patron, the crown, Pop., in 1801, 389; in 1831, 442. Houses 93. Acres 1,670. A. P. £2,902. Poor rates, in 1837, £160.“A small monastery of Cluniac monks, for which reason it has been sometimes reckoned among the alien priories, but it was only a cell to Montacute in Somersetshire, a house of that order, and as parcel of its possessions, was granted to John Etherege, 38° Henry VIII.”— Tanner’s ‘Notitia Monastica.’

Source: The Parliamentary Gazetteer of England and Wales; A Fullarton & Co. Glasgow; 1840.

A Topographical Dictionary of the United Kingdom 1808

Abbott’s Kerswell, or Abbott’s-Carswell, a parish in the hundred of Haytor, Devonshire, 1½ mile from Newton-Abbotts, and 188 ½ from London, near Torbay; is a vicarage, value 11l. 1s. 3d.

Source: A Topographical Dictionary of the United Kingdom. Benjamin Pitts Capper. 1808.


  • County: Devon
  • Civil Registration District: Newton Abbot
  • Probate Court: Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Totnes
  • Diocese: Exeter
  • Rural Deanery: Ipplepen
  • Poor Law Union: Newton Abbot
  • Hundred: Haytor
  • Province: Canterbury

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s