Alberbury Cassey Shropshire Directory 1875

ALBERBURY is an extensive parish and village, 9 miles west from Shrewsbury station, and 12 from Welchpool, partly in Ford hundred, Salop, and partly in Deythur and Cawse hundreds, Montgomeryshire, Southern division of the county of Salop, Atcham union, rural deanery of Pontesbury, and diocese of Hereford. It is divided into Upper and Lower Quarters. The Upper Quarter consists of the townships of Great Wollaston, Bulthey, Winnington, and Trefnant, in Salop, and Uppington and Middletown, in Montgomeryshire. The Lower Quarter consists of the townships of Alberbury, Eyton, Little Shrawardine, Rowton, and Amaston, in Salop, and Bauseley and Criggion, with the hamlets of Coedway and Crewe Green, in Montgomeryshire; and each maintain their own poor. The parish church of St. Michael is an old stone building. The living is a vicarage, composition for vicarial tithes, £156 15s. 10d. yearly, with residence, and 32 acres of glebe land, in the gift of All Souls’ College, Oxford. There is a school for boys and girls, endowed with £3 8s. per annum by the Fellows of All Souls’ College. Adjoining the church are the ruins of an ancient castle. On Bausley Hill is a Roman encampment, and barrows are scattered about the parish. Loton park is the seat of Sir Baldwin Leighton, Bart., who is lord of the manor and principal landowner; and Rowton Castle, the seat of Lady Charlotte Lyster. The charities amount to £11. Alberbury Priory was founded by Fulk Fitzwarin, between the year 1220 and 1230. Pope Nicholas’s Taxation represents the priory of Alberbury’s annual income to be, in temporalities, £2 7s.; in moveables, £1 9s. Upon the breaking out of the great war with France, Edward III. seized the alien priory of Alberbury, which continued an escheat of the Crown until the time of Henry VI. This King, at the request of Chicheley, Archbishop of Canterbury, on the 11th of May, 1441, granted this suppressed priory, with all its tithes, advowsons of churches and chapels, &c., in free and perpetual alms to All Soul’s College, Oxford. The soil is light loam; subsoil, sand and clay. The population in 1861 was 1,918; the area is 9,599 acres; gross estimated rental, £9,300; rateable value, £8,600
Alberbury township, in Ford hundred and division, contains 3,143a, 3r. Sir Baldwin Leighton, Bart., is lord of the manor and principal landowner. The population in 1861 was 632
Braggington Hall, an old manison, erected in 1674, is now used as a farmhouse.
Rowton and Amaston are joint townships, in Ford hundred and division, distant respectively 1 ½ and 2 ½ miles south-east, and contain 1,522 acres. Lady Charlotte Lyster possesses the manorial rights, and is the principal landowner.
Little Shrawardine is a township, in Ford hundred and division, Shropshire.
Eyton is a township, in Ford hundred and division.
Ford is a township, partly in this parish, which gives name to the hundred and division.
Bauseley is a township in Deythur hundred, Montgomeryshire. Contains 1,685 acres. The population in 1861 was 404.
Wollaston, Bulthey, Trefnant, and Winnington, townships, with Middletown and Uppington, in Montgomeryshire, form the ecclesiastical parish of Great Wollaston, and will be found under that heading.

Letters arrive from Shrewsbury at 8 a.m.; dispatched at 5-20 p.m.

Criggion, in Cawse hundred, Montgomeryshire, 4 miles distant from Alberbury, is now an ecclesiastical parish. The church is a brick building with square tower. The living is a vicarage, annual value £147, in the gift of Valentine Vickers, Esq. Valentine Vickers, Esq., is the chief landowner. The soil is loam; subsoil, clay. The area is 2,401 acres, and the population in 1861 was 187.
Letters arrive through Shrewsbury.


Leighton Sir Baldwin, bart. J.P. Loton park

Leighton Baldwin, esq. J.P. Loton park

Leighton Stanley, esq. Loton park

Mitchell Rev. Josiah M.A. Vicarage

Severne Rev. William, Whiston priory

Bromley Thomas, farmer, Shrawardine

Campbell Robert, farm bailiff

Crane John, farmer, Benthall

Davenport Benjamin, farmer, Amaston

Davenport William, farmer, Benthall crss

Derwas Thomas, farmer, Hayes

Evans Griffith, tailor

Evans Thomas, farmer, Bragginton hall

Groves Samuel, farmer

Haywood Philip, farmer & malster, Red abbey

Jones David,   fanner,   Lower  house, Eyton

Jones Evan, farmer, Upper house, Eyton

Jones  John,   head   gamekeeper,   Old Weir

Jones John, farmer, The Hole farm

Jones William E.  farmer,  The Hole farm

Kempster Richard, farmer, Lowerhouse

Large James, Dragon inn, and farmer

Llewellyn John, farmer, Lower wood

Marsh Walter, tailor, Stanford

Morris David, farmer, Bragginton

Morris Thomas, farmer, Paddock

Morris William, farmer, White abbey

Plumley Henry, farmer, Hilly house

Rogers Elizabeth (Miss), shopkeeper

Smith Edwin, farmer

Smith John K. farmer

Wilde Richard, farmer, Hayes


Lyster Lady Charlotte, Rowton castle

Bolton William, gamekeeper

Brown Ann, Windmill inn and farmer

Clements Robert, steward

Clemson John, farmer, Park farm

Cooper Thomas, estate carpenter and builder, Rowton castle

Dorricott  Richard, farmer,   Stretton heath

Jones John, farmer

Jukes Richard, farmer

Munday William, head gardener, Rowton castle

Poulter William, blacksmith

Poulter William, basket maker

Smout Richard, farmer

Vass Henry, coachman, Rowton castle

Source: Edward Cassey & Co.’s History, Gazetteer, & Directory of Shropshire. Printed Shrewsbury 1875.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.